View our accessibility package Skip to the Main Content

About Ton Beau Quartet:
Founded in 2010, the Ton Beau Quartet is dedicated to engaging audiences by decoding the music and making performances accessible. Graduate students at the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Music, they have worked with members of the Miami, St. Lawrence, and Prazak String Quartets. During the summer of 2011 they will be participating in the Chamber Music Seminar at Stanford University and QuartetFest at Wilfrid Laurier University.

The quartet’s name was inspired by Douglas Hofstadter's book Le Ton beau de Marot, which itself is a play on the title of Ravel’s suite for piano, Le tombeau de Couperin. The book focuses on the idea of translation, which has many parallels with the act of musical interpretation.

About Ina Henning:
German-born Ina Henning maintains a busy career in Music Performance, Music Pedagogy and Music Therapy in both Canada and Germany. Starting out as a free bass accordionist in Trossingen (GER), she graduated as a double major in Accordion Performance and Piano Performance. In 2004 she completed a Master's Degree in Performance under Prof. Joseph Macerollo at the University of Toronto in 2006. She obtained another Master of Arts Degree in Music Therapy at the Faculty of Applied Sciences in Heidelberg (GER) in 2008. Artistic appearances include two solo performances in Carnegie Hall, NY, and recent engagements with the Stuttgart State Opera, the Radio Symphony Orchestra Stuttgart and the New Vocal Soloists Stuttgart. She is currently a doctoral student at the Faculty of Music, University of Toronto.



Does an accordion – “a victim of musical racism,” as composer Pauline Oliveros once quipped – belong with a high falutin’ Western string quartet? Toronto composer Chan Ka Nin explores the question in his energetic piece Belonging (2010), for string quartet and accordion. On their own, the Ton Beau performs Mozart’s passionate Quartet in D Minor, K.421, and Henning performs baroque character pieces by Jean-Philippe Rameau, originally written for harpsichord.

Ton Beau Quartet: Linnea Thacker and Alexa Wilks (violins), Alexander McLeod (viola), and Sarah Steeves (cello).

< Previous Performance

Next Performance >

Music Family
Harbourfront Centre  \  What's ON  \  What's On Calendar